FSC International – Forests for All Forever

Facts & Figures

200,481,876 ha certified
34,830 CoC certificates
1,590 FM/CoC certificates

Waiting for your input …

The latest news and views from FSC, plus related forestry industry updates

FSC Portugal Publishes National Forest Stewardship Standard

Monday, 12 March 2018

Portugal becomes the fourth country to publish a national forest stewardship standard (NFSS) based on Version 5 of the FSC Principles and Criteria. The standard will be effective from 25 May 2018

Portuguese National Forest Stewardship Standard

The scope of the Portuguese NFSS includes plantations, semi-natural and natural forests. It can also be applied to large industrial owners and smallholders and across eucalyptus and pine plantations and cork-oak stands. It includes additional indicators and guidance for those areas that want to include hunting within the scope of their FSC certificate.

The FSC standard development process in Portugal was initiated in 2007, based on a voluntary, democratic, and participatory model. FSC Portugal started the process of switching to the new FSC Principles and Criteria (P&C) in early 2013. Work resumed in early 2015, when the final version of the international generic indicators (IGIs) was released by FSC International.

Portuguese forests

Portuguese forests occupy about 3 million hectares, that is about 35 per cent of the national territory – it is the main land use on the Portuguese mainland. Main species include eucalyptus, cork-oak, and maritime pine. The forest sector (silviculture and forest industries) supplies 2.1 per cent of gross domestic product (GDP), 13 per cent of industrial gross value added (GAV), and 12 per cent of exports, and directly employs 100,000 people.

Global status of NFSS development

There are over 80 countries working to transfer their national standards from version 4 of the P&C to version 5. Some 10 countries have already finished or are in the last stages of finishing the process. Of the remaining 70 countries, about 40 have a standard development group with balanced representation of social, environmental, and economic stakeholders, usually supported by an FSC national or regional office. In the other 30 countries, where there is usually no FSC network presence, standards are being developed by certification bodies, resulting in interim national standards.


Joana Faria, Executive Director, FSC Portugal





Keeping up with all the latest information about forest management and certification can be difficult. That’s why we collect it for you in our newsroom. The newsroom is where you’ll find news from FSC, as well as information about developments in the wider forestry industry. It’s also home to The Root of the Matter, the monthly blog from FSC Director General Kim Carstensen.