FSC International – Forests for All Forever

Facts & Figures

199,966,517 ha certified
38,542 CoC certificates
1,638 FM/CoC certificates

Waiting for your input …

The latest news and views from FSC, plus related forestry industry updates

Malaysian FSC National Forest Stewardship Standard (NFSS) re-published

Tuesday, 12 March 2019

The FSC International Performance and Standards Unit (PSU) is re-publishing the FSC National Forest Stewardship Standard (NFSS) of Malaysia. The Malaysian NFSS was previously published on 20 November 2018.

The standard development group tasked with creating the standard was comprised of representatives from three key regions: Sabah, Sarawak and Peninsular Malaysia. There were stakeholder engagement sessions in each of the three regions and field-testing in two forest management units, including active forest operations in Sabah and Terengganu. As the next step, standards will be developed to promote FSC certification of non-timber forest products and address certification of smallholders and community forests in Malaysia.  All forest types shall be audited against the FSC Malaysian National Standard and certification will remain valid and effective for five years. The next revision of the standard will be in 2024. 

For more information, please contact Leslie Jong, Country Manager for FSC Malaysia at l.jong@my.fsc.org.

Download the Malaysian NFSS here.


Keeping up with all the latest information about forest management and certification can be difficult. That’s why we collect it for you in our newsroom. The newsroom is where you’ll find news from FSC, as well as information about developments in the wider forestry industry. It’s also home to The Root of the Matter, the monthly blog from FSC Director General Kim Carstensen.