FSC Risk Assessments

Forest (© FSC A.C / Milan Reska)© FSC A.C / Milan ReskaFSC risk assessments determine the risk of sourcing unacceptable material according to the five Controlled Wood categories.

The assessments are used by organizations for sourcing Controlled Wood following the requirements of the Controlled Wood-Chain of Custody standard.

FSC National Risk Assessments (NRAs) are developed by working groups appointed at the national or regional level. Once approved by FSC, NRAs will be the only source of risk determination companies can use to source Controlled Wood.

FSC is also conducting the Centralized National Risk Assessment (CNRA) to improve the global coverage of FSC risk assessments.

Procedures for NRA development

NRAs are developed following common, normative procedures. As a result of the revision of the Controlled Wood system, these were revised. The revised procedures came into effect on 1 January 2015.

Currently, assessed areas are designated as either ʻlow riskʼ, where Controlled Wood may be sourced, or ʻunspecified riskʼ, where companies must conduct a field verification to confirm ‘low risk’ before material can be sourced.

Under the revised system, areas will be designated as either ‘low risk’ or ‘specified risk’. In areas of ‘low risk’, organizations may source Controlled Wood, as is currently the case. In areas of ‘specified risk’ the NRA will describe the risks of sourcing unacceptable material, and, also, a set of ‘control measures’ designed to mitigate the specific risks present. To source Controlled Wood in these areas, organizations must implement these ‘control measures’ and verify that they are effective.

Got Feedback?

Contact Joanna Nowakowska at j.nowakowska at fsc point org

© Forest Stewardship Council® · FSC® F000100