FSC International – Forests for All Forever

Facts & Figures

195,330,198 ha certified
33,506 CoC certificates
1,514 FM/CoC certificates

Waiting for your input …

Assessing risk for controlled wood categories


FSC risk assessments are used to determine the risk of an organization obtaining material from unacceptable wood sources when sourcing controlled wood.

For companies with, or seeking, chain of custody certification that need to source controlled wood from non-FSC-certified suppliers, risk assessments must be used.

Risk assessments are developed in coordination with national stakeholders, and must be approved by the FSC Policy Standards Unit before they become mandatory. Once approved, organizations are able to determine the risk involved in sourcing controlled wood in relevant areas.

National risk assessments

To ensure that risk assessments can be applied locally, taking into consideration countries’ specific social and geographical settings, working groups appointed at the national level are in the process of developing national risk assessments (NRAs). These are created following common normative procedures, and are mandatory for companies seeking certification under FSC-STD-40-005 Requirements For Sourcing FSC Controlled Wood; replacing assessments developed by companies.


Following the "old national risk assessments", forest areas – across five categories – are designated as either ‘low risk’ or ‘unspecified risk’. In areas of ‘low risk’, organizations can more easily source controlled wood. In areas of ‘unspecified risk’, organizations must conduct a field verification to confirm it is ‘low risk’ before material can be sourced. "Old national risk assessments" will be phased out on 31 December 2018.

Under the revised system, forest areas will be designated as either ‘low risk’ or ‘specified risk’. In areas of ‘low risk’, organizations may source controlled wood, as is currently the case. In areas of ‘specified risk’ the NRA will describe the risks of sourcing unacceptable material. To source controlled wood in these areas, organizations must implement a set of ‘control measures’ designed to mitigate the specific risks present and verify that they are effective.

Informative materials can be downloaded here

Centralized national risk assessments

While we develop NRAs, we have created the centralized national risk assessments (CNRA) to bridge the gap between the current and revised risk assessment procedures. Similar to the NRAs, the CNRA is overseen by the FSC Policy Standards Unit, in cooperation with the national stakeholders. The assessment is outsourced to external experts with specific expertise in the relevant controlled wood category. The assessments made during the CNRA include public consultations, which occur before they are approved.

To view the current timetable for CNRA and NRA development, click here.

The timetable includes information on engagement in the process at the national level, the (planned) start and completion dates of the assessment for each CW category, and whether a consultant is needed to conduct a particular assessment.

To view an overview of published and unpublished CNRA and NRA risk designations, click here.

The overview is for informational purposes only, to display the current status of FSC risk assessment risk designations for both drafts and finalized versions. Excluded from the overview are: NRA countries without an approved CNRA that have not yet delivered an NRA draft, and CNRA countries without any approved FSC categories.

In order to access the risk assessments for certificate holder use, please go to the FSC Document Centre, and filter for "Controlled Wood Risk Assessment (CW)".